the joys of being stuck in wisconsin

Standard

Okay, I have to admit, I met Scott Walker, and to be honest, I didn’t hate him. In fact, I thought he was pretty likable for the most part. I mean, the guy did agree to sit down with a group of 15 journalism majors from UW-Madison and talk to them about pretty much anything in relation to his policies.

Anyway, for those of you who have been living under a rock for the past six months, Scott Walker is the Governor of Wisconsin. He is probably best known for the crazy protests and rallies about his union-busting policies. Oh yeah, and for that whole prank call situation he got himself into.

My J335 class, Intro to Reporting, was able to somehow snag an interview with the Governor -I mean, it doesn’t help to have an awesome professor who has pretty sweet credentials. And, somehow, I ended up asking the first question. So basically the entire weekend consisted of me freaking out about what I should wear. It’s one thing to do an interview with the Police Chief on the fifth floor of Vilas, but it’s another thing to be inside the capital and interviewing the freaking Governor of Wisconsin. I ended up going against my “no-buying-clothing-in-Wisconsin-because-I-could-buy-it-in-Minnesota-for-a-few-dollars-cheaper” policy and going over to Urban with my roommate and shelling out 50 bucks for a nice shirt. I was also debating heavily on whether I could wear jeans or not. I consulted my roommates, who are definitely more into looking presentable than I am, and one said dark jeans were fine, while the other one was like “SKIRT!” I ended up going with dark jeggings, and I was very relieved to see that the majority of my classmates were in jeans as well.

The interview was quick and he did skirt around a few of the questions -especially the one about the racial gap of the Milwaukee Public Schools system. While we don’t necessarily agree on politics, I’ll tell you this, Scott Walker is a nice, personable guy.

Let me tell you something that my professor told us. If you had Scott Walker over for dinner, regardless of your political ideology, you would probably come away with saying “gee, he’s a nice guy.” Governor Walker was nice and made really good eye-contact, plus he was kind of funny here and there. It’s weird because I went to Mayor Paul Soglin’s press conference on the Madison Budget and I didn’t really feel that much of a connection to him. He kind of bumbled through his words, didn’t make very good eye contact, and seemed kind of all-around depressing. As my professor pointed out, Mayor Soglin has been called “grumpy” by the New York Times, and for good reason. Even though my politics are more in line with the democratic Mayor, personally, I think I like the Governor better. It just goes to show you how being personable and charismatic will take you places. (See Bill Clinton and the JFK/Nixon debate).

After he talked to us, his right hand spokesman Cullen Werwie was able to answer a few questions. He also told us he was a chem major at UW-Madison and happened to get a job in communication. Okay… Someone asked him about the whole recall thing and if it was going to happen and he was like, “OH YEAH IT’S GONNA HAPPEN” -I mean that isn’t word for word but you get the idea. I think it will be interesting when it happens, even though I’m not sure when it will. Maybe it will happen when I’m still here, and if it does, then you bet I will blog about it.

But let me take this moment to be honest with you, my dear reader(s). At first, I was totally with all the union people, mainly, and yes I am embarrassed to admit this, because I didn’t really understand the protests and I am a liberal democrat, I figured “YEAH! I HATE THIS REPUBLICAN GOVERNOR!” I know, not the best idea. Definitely not the most logical. To be honest, I still don’t know how I feel about unions. I mean, they exist for a reason, but I’m not sure what rights they should and shouldn’t have.

Now I realize that a lot of people had really no idea what they were talking about and were kind of protesting just to protest. I’m sure there were protesters who knew what they were doing, but I bet you a good handful just wanted to join in on the “let’s-bash-the-Govorner!” train. I mean, some of the ridiculous signs and protest rhetoric was seriously stupid. Here are some examples:

Seriously? HITLER? You are comparing this guy to HITLER? Oh come on. Yeah, I don’t necessarily agree with his policies or politics, but I’m not going to compare him to freaking Hitler. You look stupid when you do that, because you apparently don’t know your WWII history. Also, you’re insulting the people who actually had to suffer through the Holocaust.

On a scale of 1 to stupid, I’ll give it a:  Image and video hosting by TinyPic

So I actually met this guy. He was on his way somewhere and my friend and I passed him and he was eating some pizza and I don’t really remember what we said, but I think it was along the lines of “PIZZA!” And he was like, “Ian’s is giving out free pizza right now! Go down and get some!” He was nice but this is just stupid. Plus it was seriously freezing outside when he was wearing this shindig.

This is just an insult to George Lucas. I really have nothing to say other than this is just embarrassing.

UGH. Enough with the comparison to Egypt and Libya and other Middle Eastern and African countries overthrowing their dictators. THIS IS NOT LIKE EGYPT AT ALL. This is MF Wisconsin. Again, like the Hitler thing, you have no idea what you’re talking about. That was a dictatorship, Wisconsin elected this guy.

Leave a Reply

