gif me a break

Standard

Image and video hosting by TinyPicYes, it’s another edition of GIF ME A BREAK.

NBC AND RYAN SEACREST ARE REPORTEDLY MAKING AN ANNOUNCEMENT TOMORROW (OR I GUESS TODAY, SORRY I’M FIVE HOURS BEHIND -SPRING BREAK ’12 WOOOOOOO!) … MEANING THAT RYAN SEACREST WILL MOST LIKELY BE GETTING MATT LAUER’S JOB. From the Washington Post:

Meanwhile, “Today” show executive producer Jim Bell tweeted Sunday evening: “Tuesday morning live on the TODAY show in Studio 1A, Ryan Seacrest will make a big NBC announcement.” Since December, when The Reporters Who Cover Television were jolted out of their post-November sweeps slumber when NBC News suits were spotted dining with Seacrest, there’s been an anticipatory frenzy, in re whether Seacrest would become a co-anchor on ”Today” or play some other major role on the morning infotainment show. Talks with current co-anchor Matt Lauer have slogged on for ages, and current speculation has co-anchor Ann Curry’s future on the show looking iffy.

Seriously?! RYAN SEACREST IS NOT A JOURNALIST. I mean, it’s not like the Today Show is the pinnacle of broadcast journalism, but still. It’s technically news, even though it’s in the genre of morning news and has that fourth hour train wreck known as Kathie Lee and Hoda drink wine for an entire hour and then Kathie Lee tries to sing some song she wrote but ends up embarrassing herself. I can handle that steaming turd, but I CANNOT handle Ryan Seacrest being the anchor.

RAGE

He is not a journalist. Okay, maybe this is me defending my degree, but COME ON -RYAN SEACREST?! Host of American Idol and executive producer of Keeping Up With the Kardashians? Seriously? No, he is an entertainment entrepreneur, i.e. someone who sucks up to famous people. I would not wish on anyone to have to experience Ryan Seacrest giving them hard news, like coverage of the war or maybe some kind of exclusive interview with someone like Secretary Clinton or President Obama. Maybe it’s just me but I feel like having Seacrest host any kind of news show is the biggest insult to the degree that I’ve worked towards for three years.

I mean, we already have the entire “news” team over at Fox News.

ARGGG

Actually, NBC has been lacking in news in general lately. Once again, this might just me being rant-y, but does anyone else hate that Brian Williams is like a pseudo-comedian? He’s always on 30 Rock or Late Night With Jimmy Fallon. And now he has his own “news show magazine” or whatever it is, which is pretty much soft news. It’s like, MAKE UP YOUR MIND. You can’t be all “THIS IS THE EVENING NEWS AND SHIT JUST GOT REAL IN IRAQ” and then show up on some NBC comedy and be all like “OH HEY I’M HILARIOUS AND I’VE GOT GREAT IMPRESSIONS OF FRANK SINATRA!”

I mean, don’t get me wrong, I like comedians and I like anchors. But when you’re doing both, and doing them at separate times, it’s just like HUH?

If you really want to be both a comedian and anchor, do them at the same time like Jon Stewart or Stephen Colbert. Those guys are upfront about being comedians first, and they use their comedic genius to intentionally poke fun at news stories. I just can’t trust someone fully who is like “OK I’M HOSTING THE EVENING NEWS NOW BUT THEN IMMA BE ALL HILARIOUS ON 30 ROCK, COMING UP NEXT!”  I’m sorry, but I just have this feeling that one day Brian Williams will say “In today’s news, the President has been shot… JK LOL GOT U GUYS!!!!! OMG U SHOULD HAVE SEEN UR FACES!!!!!”

Sorry but I’ll be watching Scott Pelley over at CBS.

Leave a Reply

